Trinity Square forms the heart of Buda’s Castle District. At its center stands a large plague column, but the highlight at the square is the Matthias Church and the Fishermen’s Bastion.
The square is named after the Trinity column a large monument built between 1710 and 1713 to a Baroque style by Philipp Ungleich. The column was built to celebrate the end of the plague and citizens hoped that it would protect them from another epidemic. The sculpture at the top represents the Holy Trinity. It sits on a sturdy pillar decorated with statues of little angels and – below – large statues of saints, like Saint Seabastian, Saint John of Neppomouk and Saint Roch. The column rests on a large pedestal adorned with bas-reliefs and the Hungarian crest.