The monastery church, built sometime between 1220 and 1235, is a stunning monument of Hungarian medieval architecture. Inspired by French architecture, the church shows elements of late Romanesque and early Gothic styles. The church was a private family church, built by a single family, the family of Aynard, and might have been the last of such churches in Hungary. Aynard arrived from France to Hungary with the wife of king Bela III.
The church was a three-nave chatedral; the cloister was attached to one of the sides. In 1398, the Aynards went out of favor, and the king ordered their property to be confiscated. In 1477 King Matthias Corvinus transferred the monastery to the Pauline Order. The church and the monastery were subsequently rebuilt in the Gothic style.
After the Siege of Buda in 1541 it was badly damaged. It was rebuilt again in 1754 but an earthquake in 1763 destroyed a large part of the building, its stones were used for other constructions in the village. The ruin became unclaimed, the neighbourhood ones carried away the stones. Nothing would have been left of him, if Rómer Flóris, a Benedictine teacher,and an art historian and Henszlmann Imre would not called for the necessity of the rescue of the valuable memory in 1870. Uniquely in Hungary in the walls of the church original medieval mason’s signs can be seen.