In the 1820’s the owner of the ground where the Hungária Bath later stood, a silk trader, named András Gamperl, discovered cold water spring rich in mineral salts while digging a well. On 23rd May 1827 he opened the Gamperl Iron Bath here. The Big Flood of 1838 washed away that first building. The rebuilt bath – operating earlier with just 15 tubes – was expanded, and citizens of Pest began to refer to it, as Hungária Bath.
In 1897 Hungária Bath was bought by the Ringer family. By that time the bath had alraedy several bathrooms, four guestrooms and a relaxation garden too. This medicinal public spa with 1,500 cubicles, a buffet, a separate so-called fashion section, stone bathes, four steambathes and 60 tubes counted to be an impressive, modern bath of the capital.
In 1907 Hungária Bath was rebuilt by the plans of Emil Ágoston. Renovations were completed in 1910, and the bath became a several-storey, Viennese secession style building, where in addition to the accustomed facilities a columned swimming hall was added. The glass dome of the swimming pool was mechanically adjustable, and in nice wheater, guests could enjoy bathing under the sky! The swimming pool served as scene of numerous international competitions too.
Passing time and WWII did their work, the building of Hungária Bath (closed as bath from the 1950’s became more and more neglected, finally only some parts of the shiny majolica walltiles and the facade remained.
In summer 2004 the National Office of Cultural Heritage ordered the interim protection of buildings at risk in the area of the former Jewish ghetto of Budapest, including the Hungária Bath. On 7th February 2005 the remaining section of the spa was declared a listed building. And finally the restoration started! The result is amazing!