From balneologists and heraldic experts to psycholinguistic specialists, the Hungarian Academy of Sciences since 1825 is the workplace of the greatest brains of the country.Though the foundation happened in 1825, the present building was erected later on. The founder Count István Széchenyi, “the greatest Hungarian”, gave the institute, formerly known as the Hungarian Scholarly Society, two things: one of his total annual income and the task of dissemination of scientific findings. Therefore it is no coincidence that the Academy uses a painting of Mrs. Széchenyi as its logo.[/vc_column_text][/vc_column][vc_column width=”1/3″][vc_column_text]The building itself was finished only after the death of the founder nobleman, in 1865, but it is still one of the most beautiful works of architects. A nationwide campaign was started to raise money for the building in 1860, with the design competition launched in 1861. Construction works begun in the spring of 1862 under the supervision of Miklós Ybl and Antal Szkalnitzky. The building was inaugurated on 11 December 1865. The frescoes in the Ceremonial Hall were painted by Károly Lotz, while the small meeting room is decorated with landscapes by Antal Ligeti.

Currently, there are nearly three hundred full members of the Academy, but including the correspondents, external and honorary members, as well as its doctors, almost ten thousand people are connected to the center of Hungarian scientific life in some way.

The Library of MTA, founded in 1826, is one of the largest scientific collection of books in Hungary, which’s collection of modern books and periodicals with special collection – Manuscript Collection and Rare Books Collection – adds up to more than 2 million library units.