The history of the baths goes back to the Roman times, the water from the nearby thermal springs were already used during the rule of Emperor Claudius. Actually the name of the bath ‘csaszar’ means ’emperor’ in Hungarian. The public baths called Csaszarfürdő was opened in 1806; the building was completed in the second half of the 19th century. This was demolished in 1989-90, and then rebuilt in 1997.
In the meantime the Komjadi Swimming Pool was opened in 1976 in the vicinity of the Csaszar baths. It was named after BelaKomjadi, who was the coach of the Hungarian national water polo team that won the gold medal at the Olympics in 1932. The building of the Komjadi swimming pool is special because its roof can be opened up. This swimming pool is the home of several times Hungarian champion and cup winner Vasas water polo team, and it has a stand that can accommodate 1800 spectators. There are 100 events held in the institution on the average every year. Swimming lessons for children and adults are held in the training pools.